McGeorge Bar Prep

What You Need to Succeed on the CA Bar Exam

  • Previous Posts

  • June 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Do you have 10 minutes to enhance your bar prep?

Posted by mcgeorgebarprep on June 3, 2017

As many of you know, I was in a severe accident a few years ago that left me with Traumatic Brain Injury.  As I still continue to recover, I have learned more than I ever wanted to know about how the brain works and heals.  One of the things that surprised me most was the role that mindfulness plays in brain health, for the injured and non-injured alike.  I’d heard positive things about it before, but once my neurologist strongly recommended that I begin a regular meditation practice to help rebuild my damaged neural pathways, I started to do more research.  I won’t get into the details here, but suffice to say that it is a tremendous contributing factor in everything from reducing stress to enhancing memory, with advocates from Anderson Cooper to Russell Simmons.  Even Justice Breyer has a practice.  The best part?  It only take a few minutes a day to see benefits!

It follows that taking those few minutes a day for mindfulness might play a big part in successful, sane bar preparation.  To help, I recorded a few guided sessions focused on the bar exam that are available for free at any time.  Please note that these were not recorded in a professional studio with high-tech equipment, and I am not a certified meditation instructor (yes, they do exist!).  Most sessions are in manageable time blocks of around 10 minutes.  (Please also note that the visualization of Day 1 or 3 no longer applies in CA.)

Meditation is personal, so although I tried to craft sessions that apply to most bar applicants, you might not relate to all of them.  You may even not care for the sound or cadence of my voice.  If for any reason these do not work for you, you are welcome to adapt the ideas for your own, individual practice.  Of course you also can just meditate in silence and focus on your breath; you do not have to think about the bar exam to reap benefits that might boost your performance there.  You do not even have to meditate at all; there even are mindfulness exercises centered around eating or walking.

Still not convinced?  Check out the resources below, or just do a simple search online; there are thousands of others.  (These links are just provided for your general information and are NOT endorsements by McGeorge.)

NY Times: How Meditation Might Boost Your Test ScoresYour Excuses for Not Meditating: DebunkedMindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (this is the program recommended by my doctor—100% free); The Anxious Lawyer

 

Leave a Reply

 
