McGeorge Bar Prep

What You Need to Succeed on the CA Bar Exam

  • Previous Posts

  • May 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Accident

Posted by mcgeorgebarprep on May 24, 2014

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to check in personally and apologize for any radio silence.  We all are pulling for you during your bar prep, but unfortunately recently I was in a severe bicycle accident in which I lost the use of part of my brain and the use of one of my eyes.  I’m beyond grateful that my doctors predict a full recovery with patience, but suffice to say that focus in general and using a computer right now is very difficult (thank goodness for voice recognition software!).  Although I am not on campus as I recover and not as quickly available online as usual, rest assured that there are plenty of faculty and staff at McGeorge during the summer if you have any immediate questions, and we all wish you the absolute best.

I must say before signing off that my helmet saved my life.  I almost died anyway, and I certainly would have been gone without it.  That means two things:  (1) You always should wear a helmet!!; and (2) There is nothing like a near-death experience to put things into perspective.  Although I hope none of you ever will be in this position, please try to maintain perspective during bar prep.  It is a test — that’s it.  It’s a very important, expensive test that I hope you pass on the first attempt, but your life and the lives of your loved ones will not end based on the outcome of this exam.  Keep working hard, but please keep that in mind as you do.

Wishing you all the best,

Courtney Lee

 

3 Responses to “Accident”

  1. Dear Courtney Lee,

    I noticed the silence and it never occurred to me that it was because of an accident. Happily you are alive.

    I wish you the best.

    Elvira

  2. […] most of you know, I (Courtney Lee) was in an accident last spring that left me with Traumatic Brain Injury.  As a result, I have learned more than I […]

  3. […] most of you know, I (Courtney Lee) was in an accident last spring that left me with Traumatic Brain Injury.  As a result, I have learned more than I […]

Leave a Reply

 
